Successful completion of the course may waive the riding skills test at
the California DMV.
The Basic Rider Class is a motorcycle class designed to take the beginning
student from the most fundamental functions and operations of a motorcycle
to advanced street riding skills designed to increase riding enjoyment and
reduce chance of mishaps. Statistically, trained riders are involved in fewer
accidents. Successful completion of the course may waive the riding skills test
at the California DMV. If you already have a motorcycle license but have
been away from motorcycling for several years, this is also the motorcycle
class for you.
This course is a motorcycle class designed for those persons with little or
no riding experience. If you have never ridden a motorcycle before, have
ridden less than 3000 miles or less than three to six months, this motorcycle
class is designed for you.
• $250.00 for persons 21 years of age or older
• $150.00 for persons 20 years and younger.
What NCMT Provides:
A supportive learning environment and top-notch
instruction; we also provide a workbook for each
student, motorcycles and scooters for the training field
and loaner helmets.
What student provides:
The student must have shatter-resistant eye protection,
sturdy gloves, over-the ankle footwear of sturdy leather
or the equivalent, a long sleeve shirt or jacket and long
pants. Please, no clothing with offensive/obscene
words or depictions. The instructor will determine if an
article of clothing is not suitable for wear in the class,
and may require a student to remove or cover offensive
• at least 15 years 6 months old
• be able to ride a bicycle
Students under 18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian (with identification)
to sign the student's registration and liability waiver forms at the start of the first evening class and
when returning to class with a Standby Certificate. Permission letters from parents authorizing another
adult to execute waiver and registration forms must be notarized. Students under 18 years of age not
accompanied at the start of the first evening class or when returning to class by a Standby Certificate by
a parent, legal guardian or other adult with a notarized permission letter from a parent or legal guardian
cannot be allowed to participate in classroom or riding sessions.
At the first class, state laws and CMSP policy require you to present one of the following documents:
• a valid driver’s license (either a California license or a license acceptable to the California DMV), or
• a valid DMV instruction permit (a learner’s permit), or
• a California ID Card
Any potential student who possesses a license that has been restricted due to one or more convictions for driving
under the influence may not participate in any CMSP Riding Class until all restrictions have been lifted. All students
will be asked to attest that they are not in possession of a restricted license.
Students Under 21 Years of Age:
Persons under 21 years of age are required to complete a California Motorcyclist Safety Program beginner class at
a training site in California before being issued a motorcycle instruction permit. Upon graduation of the class and
receiving a motorcycle learners permit, the permit must be held for six months before being issued a class M
motorcycle driver license endorsement.
California DMV Motorcycle License Checklist:
Click here to be taken to the California DMV website and see what you need to get your California motorcycle
Each exercise in each session builds cumulatively on the skills and information from the preceding exercises and
discussions. Therefore, each student must attend both riding sessions in their entirety and sequence. Students
may take the riding sessions on a scooter or motorcycle as they choose, but cannot change from one to the other
after Exercise 1 has started . Students who want to switch from motorcycle to scooter or vice versa after Exercise 1
has started will be required to self-drop, receive a Standby Certificate, and have one opportunity to attend the
course on a standby basis. No refund or partial refund will be given.
Your weekend riding class may be split into two riding groups: a morning group and an afternoon group. You may
request placement in either group but must stay in the same riding group both Saturday and Sunday. Riding
sessions are 5 hours long.
If your Instructor determines that your skill level makes you unsafe and you pose a hazard to yourself or others in
the class, you may be asked to leave the class early. This decision is in the sole discretion of the Instructor. If you
are asked to leave there will be no refund, although you may re-register and try again. You may return for free on a
stand-by basis OR you may pay an additional $129 dollars and you will get a guaranteed seat in a future class with
NCMT Graduation, Cancellation and other policies:
Northern California Motorcycle Training has a FIVE (5) business day cancellation policy. All scheduling changes
and/or refunds must be done five (5) business days PRIOR TO the start date of a class for a full refund. Business
days do not include weekends, holidays or the class start date. If you want to reschedule a class 5 or less business
days before the start date of your class you will receive a stand-by certificate and be allowed to participate in any up-
coming class on a stand-by basis only. Students who are on stand by may pay a re-registration fee of $129.00 and
receive a guaranteed place in one future class.
Northern California Motorcycle Training utilizes email to transmit student confirmation letters, driving directions and
maps to assist students in locating training sites. Northern California Motorcycle Training has no control over
students' email accounts and accepts no liability for emails not received or discarded by students' email providers.
Students are advised and are responsible for contacting Northern California Motorcycle Training during normal
business hours, prior to the start date of their class, if they do not receive a confirmation email with attached driving
directions and applicable maps. Northern California Motorcycle Training assumes no liability or responsibility for
students' failure to use the provided driving directions and/or maps and any subsequent student failure to arrive at
classroom or riding sessions in a timely manner.
Course graduation requirements include, but are not limited to: 100% attendance at all classroom and riding
sessions; successful completion of the written knowledge test at the end of the classroom session; successful
completion of the skills test at the end of the riding sessions. Students are required to arrive no later than 15
minutes prior to the start of all riding sessions to complete administrative requirements.
Students who are not present at the start of the riding or classroom sessions are considered a self-drop and a
stand-by student may be given their space in the class. If such a student wishes to enroll again, that student may be
allowed one additional opportunity to re-take the course on a stand-by basis. No refund or partial refund will be
Weather: Classes run whether or not it rains. If, in the opinion of NCMT, weather creates conditions unsafe for
training, we will cancel the class, notify students at the telephone number that they provided us, and reschedule for
a future class date. If a student does not show up due to inclement weather and the class proceeds, the student will
be considered a self-drop. If such a student wishes to enroll again, that student may be allowed one additional
attempt to re-take the course on a stand-by basis. No refund or partial refund will be given.
We do not guarantee you will master the written or riding skills presented in this course. Most students successfully
complete the course their first time; some need additional training. If you do not pass the course or have been
asked to leave, you may repeat the course a second time at no additional charge on a stand-by basis.
NCMT has various makes and models of training motorcycles to fit varying student needs. Some but not all of the
motorcycles provided have a maximum weight capacity of 450 lbs (If you weigh over 300lbs please contact the office
before your first class session, so that we can have an appropriate motorcycle available for you). Loaner helmets
maximum size is XXL. If you exceed these limits please contact our office to discuss your options. Students who
arrive at the riding session and cannot be fitted to an NCMT training helmet, training motorcycle or other equipment
and does not have suitable equipment of their own will be considered a self-drop and no refund or partial refund will
Tobacco, Vaporizer, & E-cigarette Use: The use of tobacco products, vaporizers, and e-cigarettes are not
permitted in classrooms or during riding sessions. Students may use tobacco products, vaporizer, and e-cigarettes
during scheduled breaks in designated areas in accordance with applicable State and local laws. Tobacco use on
all School Campuses is prohibited by ordinance.
Cell phone use: During riding sessions, cell phones must be switched off, except during designate breaks.
|Select a site location above to register online
|After registering, you should receive 2 emails; one is a receipt for your reservation payment, the other
is class information.
Please print out and read the class information attachments. They contain maps and driving directions
students who do not use our maps and driving directions and fail to arrive at classroom/riding locations
If you do not receive either or both of these emails, or cannot read the attachments to the class
information, please contact us immediately so that we can ensure that you receive this important